Friendster is not shutting down on May 31, 2011. Rather, they will upgrade their existing service into a more entertainment-focused one. Obviously the Friendster mania died a couple of years ago and they’re not as profitable as they were before.
“Your Friendster account will not be deleted. You will still have the same email login and password in the new Friendster. Also, your list of friends will be preserved, along with your basic profile information. However, all the photos, messages, comments, testimonials, shoutouts, blogs, forums and groups that you may have now will no longer be part of your account by May 31, 2011”
So if you want to preserve all of that material, you must use the Friendster Exporter before it’s too late and Friendster ceases to be a networking site.
We are introducing a new and improved Friendster site in the coming weeks. As part of this change, we will remove a number of social networking functions in Friendster. This includes your existing account profile, photos, messages, blogs, and shoutouts. However, your list of friends will be preserved, along with your basic profile information.