RSS

What on your USB Drive?

21 Jan

Remember the times when you had to carry a case full of floppy disks to carry your digital documents and files? I do. Portable media storage devices like the zip drive were already available at that time but they were quite expensive and not everyone could afford them. Technology has vastly improved and gone a long way since then. Portable media storage devices like the USB flash drive or thumb drive are becoming smaller, cheaper and have more storage capacity. They are now a common sight and you see a lot of people bring it with them to school, in the office or anywhere they go.

I recently purchased a 4 GB Sandisk Micro Cruzer. I bought this USB flash drive because it was on sale for cheap from Amazon.com and because I needed something that can store important files, portable programs and installers for different programs like office productivity software, data recovery, anti-virus, anti-spyware, firewall, web browser, cd/dvd burning software and other useful utility software. I bring it with me anywhere I go because it can come in handy in certain situations.

Anyways, while I was sorting the stuff in my USB flash drive, I thought of blogging about it, share with you what I have on inside it and at the same time ask you guys what you have on your USB drives? This is quite a long list and it should’ve been more if I had extra space on my USB flash drive. Btw, all of the programs/installers in this list are freeware or open source.

Programs Installed:
ClamWin Portable
Firefox Portable
GIMP Portable
Notepad++ Portable
Pidgin Portable
VLC Portable

Misc Files:
Select mp3s
Videos
Documents

Software Installers:

Data/System Recovery
Avira UnErase Personal
FreeUndelete
PhotoRec
Recover My Files
Recuva
Restoration

File Encryption
AxCrypt
dsCrypt
TrueCrypt

File Manager
Free Commander
Xplorer2

CD/DVD Burning Software
Ashampoo Burning Studio 6
Avi2DVD
CDBurnerXP
DVD Shrink
HandBrake
ImgBurn
InfraRecorder

Instant Messaging
Digsby
Miranda IM
Pidgin
Trillian Astra Basic
Windows Live Messenger
Yahoo Messenger

Image Viewer/Editor
FastStone Image Viewer
GIMP
IrfanView
LightBox Free
Paint.NET
PhotoScape
Picasa

CD/DVD Emulation
Daemon Tools Lite
GizmoDrive

Media File Converters
AnyVideoConverter
Format Factory
MediaCoder
VioVideoConverter

Media Players
Applian FLV Player
DivX
Foobar2000
iTunes
JetAudio Basic
KM Player
MediaMonkey
Media Player Classic
Miro HD Video Player
QuickTime
Songbird
VLC Media Player

Office Productivity
Abiword
OpenOffice
Mozilla Thunderbird

PDF Tools
CuteWriter
Foxit Reader
PDFill Free Writer

Other Installers
7zip
Adobe AIR
Adobe Flash Player
AMP Font Viewer
Audacity
Download Accelerator Plus
EphPod
FileZilla
Google Earth
KLite Code Full
OperaTor
PeaZip
Microsoft Silverlight
UltraVNC
uTorrent

Portable Apps
BPBible Portable
ClamWin Portable
Cornice Image Viewer Portable
Firefox Portable
GIMP Portable
Notepad++ Portable
Pidgin Portable
Portable Apps Suite
VLC Portable
XAMPP Portable

Programming
Notepad++
NVU
Zoundry Raven WYSIWYG Editor

Security/Privacy
Ad-Aware Anniversary Edition
a-squared Free
Avast Home Edition
AVG Free
Avira Personal
CCleaner
Comodo Internet Security
Comodo Firewall
Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
Outpost Firewall Free
PC Tools ThreatFire
Spybot Search & Destroy
ZoneAlarm Free

System Tools
Absolute File Shredder
Comodo BO Cleaner
CPU-Z
EASEUS Partition Manager Home Edition
Eraser File Shredder
HijackThis
jDiskReport
MyUninstaller
PC Decrapifier
Revo Uninstaller
SIW (System Information for Windows)
WinAudit

Video Editors
VirtualDub
Avidemux

Web Browsers
Flock
Google Chrome
Mozilla Firefox
Opera
Safari

Another reason why I carry all these installers on my USB drive is because I’m frequently asked by family and friends to check out their computers for problems and fix it. Most of the time, when I check their computers they don’t have an antivirus or the license is already expired. There are also times when they complain that their computers have become sluggish or very slow (common symptom of malware or spyware infection) so I install an antispyware or anti-malware on their computers and run a thorough scan. Anyways, you get the idea.

How about you guys, what’s on your USB drive? Do you know of other useful programs/installers that are not included in the list? Please share it with us.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2010 in Gadget

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “What on your USB Drive?

  1. Miguel Jesperson

    January 23, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Thanks for this cool post. Anyway i found your blog on google and find it very useful. I’ll be sure to come back again for more!

     
  2. Ebonie Moorehead

    February 6, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    I really liked reading your post!. Quallity content. With such a valuable blog i believe you deserve to be ranking even higher in the search engines :). Check out the link in my name. That links to a tool that really helped me rank high in google. This way even more people can enjoy your posts and nothing beats a big audiance 😉

     
  3. Mariano

    April 25, 2010 at 3:38 am

    I logged on today and it just wasn’t there. It’s not hidden. I’ve tried putting explorer into the task manager and it popped up for a couple seconds then disappeared again. When I rebooted it, It was there for a couple seconds and again, poofed. I scanned my computer for virus’s and nothing came up with that. Can someone tell me what to do? I’ve seen many of these kinds of questions with no answers that worked for me.

    _________________
    registry cleaner

     
  4. Shanesr

    April 25, 2010 at 5:12 am

    Anytime I am connected to wireless internet it periodically stops functioning as if I am no longer connected. However, the computer shows that it is still connected, and people around me are having no problems at all. This usually happens four or five times in a two hour period. I try reconnecting, but it only lasts maybe ten minutes. My computer is regularly scanned for viruses.

    registry cleaner

     

Leave a Reply

 
